Easy Ricotta and Honey Tart with Baked Apples

So tonight my husband went on a ‘no-wives-allowed’ type business meeting, so I had to stay home and find something to do. He was thoughtful enough to buy me a pizza and make sure the table was set for me before he left, so I thought I would be thoughtful and fix him dessert for when he got home. This is a recipe I’ve adapted from a cooking show I saw from back in 1998 (when I was 12) called Two Fat Ladies. I saw the episode today while I was half asleep. They filled this tart with tea-infused PRUNES and RAISINS. GNARLY. The British are usually really good at sweets, but this was a recipe I knew needed revamping. So I thought maybe instead of (GAG) Prunes and (HOARK) Raisins I’d substitute them for some baked apples. Its been a pretty good choice, I’d say!

What you’re gonna need for Ricotta Honey and Baked Apple Tart:

(filling)
500g of Ricotta cheese
2 heaping tablespoons of Honey
1/4 cup of Brown Sugar
1 egg
1 tablespoon of Lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon of Cinnamon
1 Apple (peeled, gutted, dismembered, and baked at 400°F for 10 minutes)
Almond flakes or pieces (optional)

(crust ingredients not pictured… sorry guys… I forgot)
1 1/2 cups of annihilated graham crackers and/or cookies
6 tablespoons of butter or Vegetable based substitute
1/4 cup of brown sugar

Start by putting the Ricotta, Brown Sugar, Egg, Honey, Cinnamon, and Lemon into a bowl.

Whisk everything together until its smooth. Set the bowl aside and move on to your crust.

Annihilate your Graham Crackers and Cookies. I used half multigrain graham crackers and half Grancereale crunchy whole grain cookies. Use a food processor or a blender for this. If you don’t have one, a heavy duty ziplock baggie and a meat mallet should work perfectly.

Add the butter or butter-like stuff, and brown sugar.

Pulse the food processor until the mixture is nice and moist. If you’re using the meat mallet version, put your crushed cookies into a bowl and MELT the butter before adding it with the sugar.

Press into a medium sized glass or aluminum tart dish or pie plate. The crust should be a little less than pinky-finger-width deep. Use a spoon to press the crust up the sides and make it even. Put it in the oven on 400°F for about 10 minutes until it gets hot and starts to crisp up on the edges.

Pour your filling into the already half-baked (tee hee!) pie shell. Smooth it out with a Spatula.

Sprinkle on your Almonds and then place your baked apples on top.

Place the whole kaboodle into a 400°F (200°C) oven for about 25 minutes. Basically until the top starts to brown just a tad and the center no longer wiggles when you shake it. Allow the tart to cool to room temperature BEFORE you put it in the fridge to chill or you’ll end up with a lake on top and that’s NOT tasty OR  attractive.

Love, Peace, and Happy Bees, Friends! SUPPORT YOUR LOCAL FARMERS AND BEEKEEPERS!
PLEASE BUY LOCAL, FARM-FRESH PRODUCE AND HONEY. CUT OUT THE MIDDLE MAN AND TAKE HOME A BETTER PRODUCT TO FEED TO YOUR FAMILY.

Btchinfixins@gmail.com

One Response to “Easy Ricotta and Honey Tart with Baked Apples”

  1. Marian Barker Says:

    We watched all the Two Fat Ladies episodes on DVD and just about died laughing. The motorcycle with a sidecar was a hoot; and as I remember, they used lots of bacon…I think they considered it the perfect complement to any dish. Will have to try this, once I lose about 30 lbs.

Leave a Reply

