Another Bi-Polar recipe: Oven Baked Risotto

Now that I’ve been condemned to diet for my health, I’ve been faced with a challenge every night: My husband doesn’t want to eat what I have to eat. The poor darling is trying so hard to be supportive and encourage me. He even hid the jar of Nutella so I wouldn’t be tempted to eat it. I’ve been wondering if there are other couples out there like Alessandro and I that either can’t or don’t want to eat the same things. For whatever the reason, be it for a diet or for being picky, I feel responsible for creating new recipes that can be fixed in the same dish or pan but the results are very different. In this case, I’ve used Arborio Rice and Beef Broth (because I can’t eat beef anymore, but I still really really like the flavor) for the base and separated the other ingredients so they don’t touch each other. My side has Oyster Mushrooms and Broccoli while Ale’s has Ground Beef and Corn. The flavors mix and a-mingle, but they don’t rock around the same tree if you know what I mean… Oh! And Risotto does NOT need to include cheese! Americans have strange conceptions about Italian cuisine. First, Fettuccine Alfredo is 100% NOT Italian and does NOT exist in Italy. Second, Italians are NOT Garlic fiends. Third, Meatballs are to be eaten ALONE or with mashed potatoes and NOT with Pasta. EVER. More on these misconceptions another time. Until then…

For Bi-Polar Oven Baked Risotto you’re gonna need:

1 cup of Uncooked Arborio Rice or Brown Rice
2 cups of simmering Broth (Beef or Vegetable)
1/2 cup Browned Ground Beef (drained)
1 small can of Corn
1/2 cup of each: Fresh or Frozen Broccoli and Mushrooms (I chose Oyster Mushrooms), all in smallish pieces.
1 baking dish that can be either covered in Aluminum foil or has a lid (Mine is Terra Cotta)

First, prepare your ingredients. Brown the Beef, Cut up your veggies, simmer your Broth, and drain your Corn. Arrange your ingredients on their appropriate sides of the dish. In this case; the ground beef on one side, mushrooms and broccoli on the other, and corn everywhere.

Evenly distribute the rice on top of the other ingredients.

Pour your hot broth over everything, but sllloooowwwwlllyyy. You don’t want to muss up your great divide.The broth should reach about a centimeter above the top of the vegetables and beef.

Cover the whole mess and put it into a 400°F (200°C) oven for about a half hour. Don’t worry if there is a little bit of extra liquid in the bottom. Once you get each side of the risotto into a bowl and get it moving, the rice will absorb everything.

Divide with a spoon and serve it up hot with a little grated cheese or some crushed nuts sprinkled on top!

Love Peace and (a little less) Bacon Grease, Friends! Visualize Whirled Peas!
Like these easy low-maintenance recipes? Want something more complicated? Think I’m a crazy strawberry blonde looney-toon? Write to me in the comments or send me an e-mail! Btchinfixins@gmail.com

2 Responses to “Another Bi-Polar recipe: Oven Baked Risotto”

  1. trish Says:

    That hubby of yours NEEDS to eat veggies! I love though how colorful you are with describing your struggles.

    My hubby will eat everything so I am lucky, I have two daughters though that eat different things. They usually do not have the same tastes when it comes to eating, so I end up preparing three different kinds of things for the family. But I am currently using the old American method. If you do not eat what I fix, you go to bed without dinner.

    • bitchinfixins Says:

      I tried that method for a while. But when he sat there for an hour picking out anything green or vegetable-like (on top of the fact that he already eats slowly), I finally gave in and started to adjust things a little. I use the vegetables he WILL eat more often (things like peas, corn, mushrooms, onions, bell peppers, cabbage and salad…) and if I want some greens that he WON’T eat I’ll put them on my half of whatever I fix, or I’ll just make a small pan of it on the side. I grew up on a farm so I got lucky with all of the fruits and vegetables. I learned pretty quick what it took to get the food we ate every night so almost nothing made it to the garbage can. Have you noticed that Italian children are just as fat, if not more so, than American children? We all know who’s fault THAT is… HAHAHA

Leave a Reply

