The Kate’s Bi-Polar Frittata

My husband is kind of a bunyun on my behind when it comes to food. He eats to survive, whereas I eat because I really WANT to. I guess that is why I’m a little on the squishy side and he could stand to put on a pound or two. If I go on vacation, come home, and tell people about my vacation, I ALWAYS start with the food. It never fails. Its a focal point for me. With the hubster, if it is green and not salad or peas he won’t eat it. Its a miracle I can even get him to eat peas. I have to smother them in onions and bacon first. I’m learning, gradually, that I have to do one of two things: Eat meat and potatoes forever, or cook two meals every night. I like meat and potatoes! Don’t get me wrong… but I’m also a VERY big fan of fresh, local veggies. I’m lucky to live in the outskirts of Modena, Italy, and in my area we have a LOT of Farmers who sell produce literally out of their garage. So if I’m going to get veggies into my diet, I’m going to have to make them just for me.

Tonight I literally made two different Frittatas in one pan. One with cut up Hot Dogs, and one with Baby Zucchine. Both have a Potato and Onion base, but I’ve had to keep my evil green stuff on one side and his Hot Dogs on the other side. But it worked! He was content, I got my beautiful Baby Zucchine, and all was right in the Land.

For Bi-Polar Frittata for Two, here is what you’ll need:

4 Eggs, mixed (not whipped! How would YOU like it if I whipped you!? Er… Don’t answer that…)
3 tablespoons of Low Fat Milk
1 medium Potato, skin ON (because its GOOD FOR YOU)
1 small Onion peeled and chopped
1 large Hot Dog cut up (I used my scissors like a good girl) for one side
1 small Zucchine or Baby Zucchine for the other side
Salt, Pepper, and Chili Powder to taste
Olive Oil

Cut up your Potato and Onion into small pieces but still big enough to roast in the oven without turning into bird food.

Toss in your baking pan with Olive Oil, Salt, Pepper, and Chili Powder (optional) then put them into a 400°F (200°C) oven for about 10 minutes.

While the taters’n’onions are in the oven, prep your Hot Dog, Zucchine, and Eggs. Chop your Zucchine about the same size that you did your potatoes and onions. Cut up your Hot Dog into small pieces. I used scissors and it took hardly any time at all. Mix in the milk with your eggs until you don’t see the milk anymore and the color of the eggs reminds you of… well… like if sunshine and snot had a baby. I guess…

Pull your spuds and onions out of the oven when they look like this:

Layer your Hot Dogs on one side and your Zuccine on the other.

Pour your Eggs over the veggies and Hot Dogs until they’re ALMOST covered all the way. You don’t want them to be covered entirely because then it won’t be pretty. I guess it doesn’t matter, but I like to know whats in my Frittata before I take a bite.

Put the whole shebang back in the oven for 15 minutes on 350°F (175°C). Test it by shaking the pan a little. If you see the middle jiggling, give it another 5 minutes in the oven. When you can shake it and it doesn’t jiggle, take it out and cut it in half. Make sure not to get any of the evil green stuff in with the Hot Dog half, because (like in my case) your significant other (AKA My Husband) will ‘Brontola’ at you. (Brontolare is a word in Italian which means to Nag and Bitch. Add it to your vocabulary. Its useful.)

Serve it up pretty with tomorrow’s post (Garlic Toast) and maybe add a side of fresh Salsa. Mmmm… Salsa…. Sounds like grounds for another post! 😀

You know… Maybe I don’t give my handsome husband enough credit. He is really supportive, makes me laugh, and helps me a LOT with my Italian. He isn’t at big of a pain in my keester as I make him out to be, but he sure does like to give me a hard time about how many vegetables I eat! He also claims that Broccoli is the spawn of Satan and will rain upon the earth when Armageddon comes. But that’s for another post… Until then…
Love Peace and Bacon Grease, Friends! Visualize Whirled Peas!

Feel the need to contact me? Have a recipe request? E-mail me! BtchinFixins@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

