An Introduction and Torta di Banane ‘Testa in Giu’

Buona Sera from Modena, Italia! My name is Kate, and I’ve been living in Italy for 2 years. Originally, I’m from Oregon, USA, but love and adventure in Europe seemed like a better plan to me. As a newlywed (well, I suppose 2 years of marriage isn’t particularly ‘newly’ is it?) I’ve been faced with a challenge. Coming from a big family back home in Oregon to a household of just my husband and I here in Italy, I’ve had to throw away so many half-cakes, half-eaten roasted chickens, and week-old leftover Beef Stroganoff  I was nursing my wallet daily for Shock, Dementia, and Projectile Vomiting. Its taken a while to get into the swing of portion control and not cooking for an army. Many of my friends and family have told me similar stories so I took it upon myself to spread the word of cooking small, saving money, adding some new recipes to others’ emergency go-to folder, kitchen tools, and Evil Food-Science Tricks.

Today, I’ve got a fancy new cake in mind for those of you with a couple bananas on the counter top who’ve seen better days. Loaf after loaf of Banana Bread get half eaten at my house and then hucked into the trash after they harden and dry up. This cake is small, big enough for two people to get through in three days. It takes about 45 minutes in the oven on 325°F. Here is what you’ll need:

  • 2 Bananas a bit past their prime
  • 2/3 cup of Dark Brown Sugar
  • 1/4 cup of Nuked Butter (AKA Melted)
  • 1 1/2 cups of flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of Baking Powder
  • 3/4 cup of Sugar
  • 1/3 cup of Canola Oil (or corn oil in an emergency situation like being too lazy to go to the store)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of Sour Milk (or regular milk with a teaspoon of white vinegar)
  • 1 Tablespoon of Vanilla or Almond Extract (I used Almond because it makes my house smell nice)

Heat your oven to 325°F. Slice your bananas into discs a half an inch thick and line a 9×9 baking dish with them. Sprinkle on the brown sugar and add the melted butter slowly until the bananas on the bottom of the dish look like they’re well covered. In a big bowl, dump in all of your dry ingredients. Make a well in the center (Like the pit of Sarlacc for all of your Star Wars nerds out there) and add your wet ingredients into the ‘pit’. Use a spoon to mix it all together until smoooothe. Pour the cake batter into your banana-lined pan and be careful not to move around the pieces of banana. Put it in the oven and let it bake for 35 minutes. While its still in the oven, jiggle the sides of the pan with your mitted hands and see if the center of the cake wobbles. If it does, it needs another 15 minutes. If it doesn’t. Slice a toothpick or a butter knife into the enter and see if its comes out clean. If it doesn’t, give it another 15 minutes or so. If it does, take it out, let it cool for 20 minutes, then turn it upside down over a plate and remove the pan. The picture is me with the finished product.

Need to contact Bitchin Fixins? Send me an e-mail! BtchinFixins@gmail.com

Torta di Banane 'Testa in Giu'

The finished product...

2 Responses to “An Introduction and Torta di Banane ‘Testa in Giu’”

  1. trish Says:

    You Rock girl! Way to go. A tip though I tend to use when baking, muffins, they can be easily frozen, taken out in the morning the amount that you need, for your dessert that afternoon/evening. Or even the night before for breakfast. I was tired of throwing away things too, and my hubby complaining.

  2. Vale Says:

    Dear Kate,
    I will definitely try this at home 😀 But please…one day could you give us the recipe for the DELICIOUS and “IRRIPETIBILI” chocolate chip cookies?? And pancakes, too??
    I do ADORE Italian food of course, but I can’t hide my TOTAL DEVOTION to American sweet stuff! *_*
    Thank uuuuu! ^_^

Leave a Reply

